HI MUM

My blog now has one reader! whohooo!

Had my first appointment with a psychologist today. Being the first time I saw her we didn’t really talk about much more than my life history. But the advice that she did give me seemed to hit a nerve. I’ve paraphrased what she said below.

When your trying to make yourself do something you don’t want to do, you’re going to feel

      • Angry
      • Irritable
      • Frustrated

 You have to  keep fighting those feelings. You aren’t going to feel motivated. You’ll have zero motivation. You have to tell yourself that you’ve made a commitment to doing this and that you’ll see it through.
It’s going to be harder for you, so you’re going to have to work harder- but when you succeed it’s going to really be an achievement, and really mean something.

It would be nice if we could go through life without those feelings (anger/frustration), but life isn’t like that.

Shortly after this she wrote “Life is suffering” on her whiteboard.

I’ve seen a few counsellors before, and the advice they’ve always given me- has always made sense, but hasn’t really made an impact. There’s never been any light bulb moment, where I have some sort of major realisation. But this time it felt like there was.

I think it was two things. First that she acknowledged just how angry and frustrated I do feel whenever I try to force myself to stay on task. And second that you don’t need to be feeling motivated in order to get things done.


Leave a Reply

